Things to do in Austin TX?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I get to go to Austin this May for a conference I'll be running a demo at. I'll be there from Sunday to Thursday, and since this is my first time to Austin (Texas also, unless you count flying into El Paso before driving straight into New Mexico) I figured I'd ask the people familiar with the area (at least one of the Texans on here are from the Austin area right? or is it all Houston?).

6th street, many bars and live music venues.

Congress Street Bridge - Largest urban bat population in the world.

Free tour of the State Capitol.

figmentPez

Staff member
My sister is crazy about Flip Happy Crepes. She goes there every time she's out in Austin visiting friends. I hear there are a lot of good places to eat in Austin.

Going to agree, when given the option to go to a theater I almost always go to the Drafthouse. Really really good food/drinks while watching a movie comfortably.

Necronic

Staff member
For bars I would suggest avoiding 6th street and going straight to 5th/4th street. You avoid the college kids (mostly) and get to hit some nicer places. One in particular I would suggest is "The Speakeasy". It's pretty hard to find (the entrance is down an alley) but it's a fantastic bar.

As for places, since you're going in May I would suggest Barton Springs. It's a set of natural springs that has been converted into a pool. It's super cold, which is pretty nice in summer. And, if you're a bit adventurous you could try out the green belt, which is a massive park/forest.

I would also suggest that you go check out the University. UT is one of the biggest Universities in the world and it's crammed into 6 x 6 blocks (more or less). It's worth seeing.