[Question] In English, can the tilde (~) be used to denote a range?

Status
Not open for further replies.
In Chinese and Japanese, and I think some other Asian languages too, the tilde (~) has become a way to express a range. However, as far as I can tell, the tilde isn't used this way in English.

For example, "Pick a number from 1~10," or "We're open from Monday~Friday," or "We'll need 4~5 guys to help out this weekend."

I work as an editor and translator, and whenever I see people use the tilde this way in English, I tend to correct them. But it's gotten to the point where everyone's doing it, and I'm starting to doubt myself. So I ask you, fellow Halforumites: Can the tilde be used to denote a range?

GasBandit

Staff member
Wikipedia says that it's a non english useage to denote range. Used alot in Japanese and Chinese, which, coincidentally, is where we get most of our electronics. Generally in english it denotes approximation. As in I've got ~3 beers in the fridge. Give or take.

I'm a conventionalist here.. I say you stick to your guns and keep changing tildes to en dashes.

It's so closely tied to approximation that most English readers would see "open from 1~3" and read "open from about one to about three"

The tilde has always indicated approximation for me in mathematical usage. I believe it has something to do with calculus, but I'm probably wrong.

From http://web.archive.org/web/20110514....org/archives/2002/10/04/history_of_the_tilde