Fighting depression

Status
Not open for further replies.
Now most of you don't really know me that much (I lurk more than post - just how I am), but here goes my question for Dave (and anyone else who wants to chime in).

I have been fighting depression for many years (at least 9) - usually was only seasonal, but it has "updated" itself into full depression now - was officially diagnosed with mild depression the day before I got laid off from my job last September (what a great way to help your depression, eh?).

So far the meds that were prescribed to me don't do anything (generic of Zoloft) - I currently can't afford to go back in and get a prescription for anything else. I took a pay cut from what I was making before I got laid off for my current temporary job (ends at the end of June. I'm trying to find something permanent again (which sucks when you have depression more than when you don't - it seems not many places seem to want an IT Admin here and/or are willing to talk to me for some reason). My insurance that doesn't cover mental health either (not like it covers much of anything anyway - didn't even pay for my son's 15 month checkup last fall - am doubting they'll cover his 18 month checkup that we just got (at 20 months)).

I knew before I got officially diagnosed that it's depression (perhaps a bit of minor bipolar thrown in - not official or anything) - I lose interest in doing almost everything that I usually find enjoyable - I have to force myself to do some things (other than spending time with my 20 month old).