Resigning my position (herein lies a wall of text)

Preface: I have something I need to get off my chest, and a way to get all my thoughts in order before I take my next steps. That's what this post is meant to be, and that is all. I can not go into certain details, however if anyone actually makes it to the end of this and has questions I can try to offer answers to what I can. What specifics I might not be able to answer I will simply tell you what I can and how much I can.

I'm sitting in a hotel room and trying to count how many different hotels I have been in over the last 12 weeks. I have lost count of even the different towns and cities I have been in. I know that they are stretched over 5 different states.

I am a travelling salesman. Or I am supposed to be. The company I work for sends me from place to place, city to city, state to state, business to business in order to sell merchant processing solutions. We offer low *fixed rates on credit card processing in addition to other programs to benefit and help grow a small to medium sized business profit revenue. That's the idea anyhow.

And it sounds good on the surface. When I present to you how much you are currently spending with your existing service provider vs how much my company can *save you it all looks very good on paper. Even when I go through an in depth explanation of why I am able to save you XX number of dollars a month it makes sense... from a certain point of view. Then I ask you for a ton of personal information, a voided check, fill out a 14 page contract and lean on your pen for you while you sign away. And I am expected to get you to sign through nearly any means necessary. I can be your friend, a negotiator on your behalf with the higher ups, I can get a little firm, and I can even get to the point of badgering and harassing you. And if I can't get it done, I get someone on the phone who is supposed to be able to close you in my place.