OCAA Soccer try-out

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kevin91

Hi, so tomorrow is the last day for soccer try-outs. I've never really played soccer in my life, perhaps a few times.

I was thinking about trying out as a goalie. Has anyone ever tried out for any sport? If so, do I need to be in full-equipment? I found a pair of goalie gloves around my house, but there are no shoes or shin guards.

Is it worth it to try out for a college level team if I have no experience with the game at all? I've been a hockey goalie for almost a year, but I'm not sure how much help that would be. Any feedback would be great. Thanks!

Dave

Staff member
College level with no experience? Probably not gonna happen. I'm sorry to bust your bubble. But stranger things have happened so if you don't mind trying go for it.

K

kevin91

Thanks for the words of encouragement. However, I've never tried out for a team before. Would I need all of the equipment before trying out? Such as cleats and shin pads?

Try anyway, you might find you have a hidden talent. As for equipment, if you have none, not much you can do, but be honest if asked why. Don't act tough as if you don't need all that gear.

Dave

Staff member
Thanks for the words of encouragement. However, I've never tried out for a team before. Would I need all of the equipment before trying out? Such as cleats and shin pads?
I really wasn't trying to be a jerk, but people work very, very hard to get onto college sports teams. Someone deciding the day before the tryouts that they want to apply and are going onto a web forum to check equipment means either a serious lack of preparedness or - and I'm sorry to come to this conclusion - a joke.