"It gets better" *sad*

Status
Not open for further replies.

http://unicornbooty.com/2011/09/14-...maker-commits-suicide-after-endless-bullying/

Basically young Jamey Rodemeyer had been a victim of bullying since he came out as being gay. He made a video advising others life does get better as you get older. Unfortunately the bullying increased and he, sadly, took his own life. If you watch his video it's heart breaking. How can people be so cruel? I can't imagine when I was in junior high or high school being so filled with hatred I would encourage someone to kill themselves. I hope there's a special place in hell for those jerks.

i don't understand how bullying due to sexual orientation is NOT a hate crime. isn't that the definition of hate crime? I am not a lawyer or a policeman, but this is heartbreaking, that any human being can condone this behavior, that its OK to attack someone over their position in sex, creed, color, orientation!?

i don't understand how bullying due to sexual orientation is NOT a hate crime. isn't that the definition of hate crime? I am not a lawyer or a policeman, but this is heartbreaking, that any human being can condone this behavior, that its OK to attack someone over their position in sex, creed, color, orientation!?
Yes, that's a hate crime. At least in Spain... The U.S. does look like a swiss cheese piece in regard to these laws, though, due to state autonomy.

This is just heartbreaking.

Every time I hear about something like this, or have to hear about how some people still despise gay people I can't help but wonder if there actually is any hope for the future.