Export thread

Is beer an acquired taste?

strawman

strawman

The epic win thread has an interesting discussion on beer. What was your experience?

I'm curious because I've seen so many comments over time that suggested beer is an acquired taste, and often learned culturally.

Dave

Dave

I HATE the taste of beer. Hell, I'm not a fan of the taste of alcohol in general.

Tinwhistler

Tinwhistler

I love alcohol, but never cared for beer. At parties, one beer would last me all night, and I'd end up pouring half of it out.

When I started playing Irish music, most pubs only pay session musicians in beer. So if you want to get paid, you better learn to like beer. Now I really enjoy beer--though I prefer beers with more flavor. I'm not a big fan of the pilsner style pale and mild beer (aka: budweiser, coors, etc) that seems be the most popular in the US.

Jay

Jay

Beer is truly an acquired taste and that taste can change with moods, age as well as seasons.

SpecialKO

SpecialKO

I started liking beer a lot more when I started drinking microbrews instead (at least around here).

Frank

Frank

I've definitely found the niche of beer that I enjoy. While I can drink pretty much anything but the darker stouts (which I don't enjoy at all) I'm a white guy. I love white beer. Also, I'm a racist.

MindDetective

MindDetective

Don't like it. I am likely, though unverified, a supertaster, so am sensitive to the bitterness of alcohol. That said, even supertasters can learn to like alcohol. I just never did. I think part of it was my anti-peer-pressure stance in high school and college that simply kept me away from trying it at a critical time to adopt the taste.

GasBandit

GasBandit

When I was younger, I didn't particularly like beer - I just drank it to get drunk, as it was the cheapest way to accomplish inebriation.

Now almost 20 years later, I find light beer a refreshing alternative to drinking water or soda, when I'm not in the mood for hard alcohol.

HCGLNS

HCGLNS