[Console] Imma stab a Ubisoft programmer in the face!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alright - I know I'm late to the party on this one. I'm trying to pass the summer doldrums waiting for Borderlands 2 to come out, so I've been playing older stuff I've never played before on my 360.

Enter Assassin's Creed I

I'd heard decent things. Over the course of the last couple of years I'd accumulated the followups (AC2, AssRev) from my Gamefly subscription, so one day at GameStop I decided to pick up a used copy of AC1 to play when the doldrums hit. So a couple of weeks ago I started playing.

Where do I begin? The gameplay was extremely repetitive. Sneak into town, go to the bureau. Climb a tower, save a citizen, fight some guards. Climb another tower, save another citizen, fight more guards. Do a couple of quest objectives, assassinate a mini-boss, escape.... repeat. 8 times repeat.

The camera angle. Oh God the camera! Which thereby made the controls frustrating. Yes, I did want to jump off this ledge & fall all the way to the ground below. Why would I have wanted to grab that ledge just over there?

The cut scenes were OK, but the fact that I had to walk everywhere was frustrating. The story was OK. As usual they throw in the "find all the hidden stuff" concept to keep the achievement hunters playing, but I'm not about to do that crap.

Then there's the annoying beggars & madmen/drunken sailors. Who's dumbass idea was it to put some annoying bitch on every street corner to come running at ME & ONLY ME wailing about "Please you don't understand I don't have any money". ESPECIALLY when I'm trying to be stealthy & assassinate someone without being spotted. I only wish I had discovered the achievement for tossing these urchins to the curb sooner than I did.