[Question] Going from "job" to "career" (warning: lengthy)

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK, so I have a job (for now), and I like my job, and while I'd be happy continuing to do my job, it appears that I've done my job a little too well, and that might cause it to go away. For those not familiar with my situation, I'm a consultant/contractor. I work for a company called Pentad Solutions, but I work at a company called, well, Microsoft. My job for the past 6.5 months has been to authenticate requests for account data of deceased account holders by their loved ones and/or estates and, once authenticated, ship them a DVD of said deceased loved one's account data. It's an easy job and so long as I keep my self distanced from the tragedy of the deaths of the account holders in question, it doesn't get me down. I used to do call center work (and I used to manage call centers) so I'm really good at distancing myself from a situation.