[Question] Blog Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm working on a project that is going to require me to make a website with regular blog posts. I've never actually kept a blog, though, so I'm looking for advice. I have very little html experience, so I'd like advice on the easiest, cheapest way to do this.

What have you guys had success with?

If you can meet your requirements and use a free blogging platform like blogger, wordpress, or even facebook or google+, then go that route.

If you can't use any of those existing free solutions, you can get a website with CPanel and one click installations for wordpress and several other popular blogging platforms for $5 or less per month. I prefer http://www.a2hosting.com/web-hosting these days, but web hosts are a dime a dozen.

You won't have to know HTML unless you want to customize a blog theme more than just changing the images and colors. If you use Wordpress you'll have access to hundreds of decent themes, though, so you probably won't have to touch anything that isn't easily altered in the administration panel.

fade

Staff member
Wordpress. You can install it yourself or use their free hosting. Any of the others stieny mentioned work, too. I would put Wordpress on top because it's portable. You can move to a new host or migrate out to your own host from the free version if you outgrow it. Plus, there is a ton of support out there for WP.

doomdragon6

Staff member
Wordpress is probably "best", but it is such a HUUUUUGE pain in the ass to use. I don't find it very user-friendly at all. Blogger, on the other hand, it nice, simple, and straightforward. If you want no headaches, go Blogger. If you want customization (which without html/css knowledge it'll be a little difficult) but huge headaches, go Wordpress.

GasBandit

Staff member
I found very little difficulty using wordpress when I was making a website for work - setting it up, however, took some effort and some SQL ju-jitsu.