Where do you put your IRA?

GasBandit

Staff member
Not asking for numbers here, but curious as to where other halforumites choose to invest for the long haul. Mutual funds? Specific stocks? Physical precious metals? Cash in a sock under the mattress?

I guess I'll start. I've got every drop of my IRA in PRWCX - that is, the T. Rowe Price Capital Appreciation Fund. Fidelity rates it 5 stars, but I'll not pretend it was some genius research that led me to it - my Dad got me started on a Roth IRA when I graduated as a grad present, and that was the fund he chose.. and I've just kept it ever since, contributing what I can. I wasn't even smart enough to get out of in in 2008 before the crash, but really, who was?

Lately it's broken its 1 year trend floor (which seems bad to me) so I'm wondering if it might be good to move to something else, though.

badtrp.JPG

I had a Roth IRA and a not insignificant amount of personal investments. I was probably averaging 7-12% appreciation/year.
It's all gone now. Life'll do that.

--Patrick

Dave

Staff member
I don't have enough money to invest. I have been telling myself "maybe someday" but I don't think that day will ever come.

A long time ago, I did an interpreting job for a financial institution. I remember sitting in on one of the interviews, where a bunch of Taiwanese journalists interviewed this guy, a European who worked as a high-ranked member of this American financial company. Near the end, they asked him where he, personally, put his investments for the future. He hemmed and hawed, and suggested the usual obvious answers, like real estate and bonds. He also said that it may be worthwhile to invest in funds related to water resources, because water would be an increasingly scarce resource in the future.

And then this particular financial company suffered a calamitous thrashing in the 2008 financial crisis, so perhaps we should take the advice of this particular high-ranked member with a grain of salt.