Stupid movies

fade

Staff member
So, my big Christmas gift this year was Adobe CC. I'm playing around with it on old footage. My son has this crappy 640x480 flea market FauxPro and some Airsoft guns, so I took some of his footage and had a little fun with it. Tools used: Premiere Pro CC, After Effects CC, Speedgrade CC, and GarageBand:

This was a class project I did for college back in 1999. Our group had to make a commercial to sell a fake computer chip. I edited it using Premiere and Photoshop. And yes, this was filmed using a cassette tape camcorder, so that's why it looks all grainy and the sound recording sucks.

fade

Staff member
I've been playing with stupid movies for years. My brother and I especially. I have used final cut express quite a bit, but this is my first time with Adobe's stuff. First time I "composed" a song from loops.

Comedy is comparatively easy to DIY. We (my brother and I) would really like to do a drama of some sort. But those are far less forgiving of errors and bad film work. Also comedy lets you get away with recycling actors.

What really makes me groan is going back and watching the analog stuff we had to edit in camera.

fade

Staff member
I've been working on a more serious short. I'm trying to do it properly, so here's a treatment and a screenplay, if anyone is interested. They're almost the same, except the treatment is more descriptive and written as prose.

The elevator pitch is this: a grown man returns to his parents home to find his old nightmare waiting for him, quite literally. But it's no longer fear that interests the old monster, but new life.

fade

Staff member
The treatment is three pages of Courier font with lots of white space (if you're afraid it's too long to read). I'm shooting for around 5 minutes or so here, so it's not huge.

fade

Staff member