Now that the bandwagon has moved on, AMA :)

If I recall, at one point, you mentioned you've made whistles in the past? Tell me more about that.

What is it about cooking you most enjoy - the process, or the results, or something else? Why?

What do you do to motivate yourself when you have a task you need to do but don't want to do?

Can you read music or do you learn your tunes by listening?

What other instruments do you play?

If one were to visit D.C., where would you suggest they stay, and how to get about?

What is your favorite cuisine?

Do all of your exes live in Texas? ;)

If I recall, at one point, you mentioned you've made whistles in the past? Tell me more about that.

What is it about cooking you most enjoy - the process, or the results, or something else? Why?

What do you do to motivate yourself when you have a task you need to do but don't want to do?
1) So, I like doing crafty things. Cooking falls under that. A couple years after I started playing whistles, I discovered the handmade whistle community. There's a whole different world out there beyond the $5.00 Generation brand whistles you find at many music stores. So I've always been fascinated by it. One day, I sold 3 or 4 handmade whistles (some of which can go for between $600-1000) to fund my adventure in making them.

Using the money, I bought a 12" mini lathe (for shaping the bore), a 60" wood lathe from harbor freight for roughing out the square blanks to mostly round, and for drilling the hole. I had a custom gun drill made for the boring, since they're self guiding. I got a drill press for the finger holes and some jewlers files for shaping the windway and ramp. And I bought a pair of digital calipers so I could measure all of the whistles in my collection to figure out the magic formula for bore sizes etc.

I would go to Woodcraft and buy 12x1x1 hardwood blanks by the dozen.