[Question] I need some anime suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.
My niece told me tonight that she recently got into anime. She also confided that I'm the only relative she has who even understands what anime is, much less ever watched it. The problem is that, while I've enjoyed a few series here and there, I'm no expert.

She told me the only thing she's watched from start to finish was Death Note. She's open to trying other series so long as it isn't anything like "Dragonball Z or Naruto or garbage like that." The only thing I had at my house was Cowboy Bebop; she gave it a try, but said it just wasn't for her.

So, any suggestions? What should I tell her to try? She liked Death Note, hates DBZ/Naruto, and was very "meh" about Cowboy Bebop.

(Please keep all suggestions appropriate for a 15 year old girl.)

Here is a quick list off the top of my head

Shows
Elfen Lied (Not necessarily sexual in nature but it does have nudity )
Gurren Lagann
Last Exile
Gunslinger Girl
Trigun
Claymore
Neon Genesis Evangelion
Scrapped Princess
Rurouni Kenshin
Blue Seed
Sound of the Sky (Also called Sora no Woto)
Ouran High School Host Club

Movies
Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind
Grave of the Fireflies
Howl's Moving Castle
Princess Mononoke
Spirited Away
The Girl Who Leapt Through Time
My Neighbor Totoro
The Cat Returns
Kiki's Delivery Service
Porco Rosso
Whisper of the Heart
Katsuhiro Otomo Presents: Memories

Yeah, Ouran High School Host Club (romantic comedy/pretty boys) was really popular. Hetalia Axis Powers (comedy/historical) as well.

If she's not into action stuff, I probably wouldn't recommend Claymore. Then again, I probably wouldn't recommend Claymore, period :p

Also, not sure I would recommend Elfen Lied, or at least offer the caveat that she not watch where her parents can see it. There are some questionable scenes in there.