1. Welcome to Halforums!

    At Halforums, we value everyone's input. Please feel free to post without having to create an account. You will have to complete a few more steps than a full member and have to put up with this annoying notice on every page. If you want to join, click Register and start talking!

    Already a member? Login Now!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Welcome to Halforums!

    At Halforums, we value everyone's input. Please feel free to post without having to create an account. You will have to complete a few more steps than a full member and have to put up with this annoying notice on every page. If you want to join, click Register and start talking!

    Already a member? Login Now!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Welcome to Halforums!

    At Halforums, we value everyone's input. Please feel free to post without having to create an account. You will have to complete a few more steps than a full member and have to put up with this annoying notice on every page. If you want to join, click Register and start talking!

    Already a member? Login Now!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Welcome to Halforums!

    At Halforums, we value everyone's input. Please feel free to post without having to create an account. You will have to complete a few more steps than a full member and have to put up with this annoying notice on every page. If you want to join, click Register and start talking!

    Already a member? Login Now!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Welcome to Halforums!

    At Halforums, we value everyone's input. Please feel free to post without having to create an account. You will have to complete a few more steps than a full member and have to put up with this annoying notice on every page. If you want to join, click Register and start talking!

    Already a member? Login Now!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Welcome to Halforums!

    At Halforums, we value everyone's input. Please feel free to post without having to create an account. You will have to complete a few more steps than a full member and have to put up with this annoying notice on every page. If you want to join, click Register and start talking!

    Already a member? Login Now!
    Dismiss Notice

GB's "I'm Messing with the media addon" test thread

Discussion in 'Board Requests & Bug Reports' started by GasBandit, Aug 15, 2016.

  1. Dave

    Dave I'm not that fucking old! Staff Member

    Messages:
    26,309
    Media:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Omaha
    Books:
    3
    This thread, folks, is why I made Gas an Admin. He's working on things that I couldn't even begin to fix.
     
  2. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
  3. PatrThom

    PatrThom Genuinely Curious

    Messages:
    27,642
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Other Fourth Coast, USA
    Books:
    0
    I thought it was because he needed an outlet for his ego?

    --Patrick
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  4. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    No, I make POTG montages for that.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. PatrThom

    PatrThom Genuinely Curious

    Messages:
    27,642
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Other Fourth Coast, USA
    Books:
    0
    I'm actually gonna miss LĂșcioball.

    --Patrick
     
  6. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 18, 2016 ---
    Well, that's that sorted anyway.
     
  7. Dave

    Dave I'm not that fucking old! Staff Member

    Messages:
    26,309
    Media:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Omaha
    Books:
    3

    Or so you thought!
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 18, 2016 ---
     
  8. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    Aaaaand now it stopped working altogether.

    Edit: ok, seems that it still (halfway) works on chrome, but none work on firefox.

    Updated my notification to the author.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
  9. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Denbrought

    Denbrought The Last Dancelord

    Messages:
    3,301
    Trophy Points:
    944
    Location:
    Swam back to GA
    Books:
    1
    Was at a lunch with a bunch of IT friends from my area. A few are being heavily affected by today's event. Only a minor annoyance for my work, thankfully.
     
  11. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    An annoyingly not-insignificant portion of my day today has been spent explaining to people what a DDOS attack is and why it means they can't get to twitter.
     
    • Hugs Hugs x 2
  12. Denbrought

    Denbrought The Last Dancelord

    Messages:
    3,301
    Trophy Points:
    944
    Location:
    Swam back to GA
    Books:
    1
    Just found out our company moved away from Dyn for our DNS not long before I started. Yuge bullet dodged there.
     
  13. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    I kicked Dyn to the curb when they stopped doing free dynamic dns.
     
    • Brofist Brofist x 1
  14. PatrThom

    PatrThom Genuinely Curious

    Messages:
    27,642
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Other Fourth Coast, USA
    Books:
    0
    Also yay for local caching servers.

    --Patrick
     
  15. jwhouk

    jwhouk Stuck In North Central Walkerstan

    Messages:
    6,689
    Media:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    694
    Location:
    Cheeseheadland, USA
    Books:
    0
    The "Upload Files" button (between "Post Reply" and "More Options..." is showing up blank for me. Any particular reason?
     
  16. Denbrought

    Denbrought The Last Dancelord

    Messages:
    3,301
    Trophy Points:
    944
    Location:
    Swam back to GA
    Books:
    1
    Shows up fine for me. What browser and OS is this with? Have you tried a different browser, and/or clearing the cache?
     
  17. jwhouk

    jwhouk Stuck In North Central Walkerstan

    Messages:
    6,689
    Media:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    694
    Location:
    Cheeseheadland, USA
    Books:
    0
    FF 49.0.2 on WinX.
    --- Double Post Merged, Oct 23, 2016 ---
    EDIT: Strange, it's showing up on Chrome 54.0.2840.71...

    EDIT #2: And it showed up briefly before reverting to a white box... :confused:
     
  18. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    Unlike the other two buttons, the upload a file button is a flash widget. That might be a place to start looking...
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. PatrThom

    PatrThom Genuinely Curious

    Messages:
    27,642
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Other Fourth Coast, USA
    Books:
    0
    Most browsers are starting to just outright ignore Flash content by default.
    Lotta stuff is gonna break.

    --Patrick
     
  20. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    Ok, now my firefox at work started doing it, too. The button still WORKS but it is a blank white box. I suspect, as Pat does, that it is due to new versions of the browsers continuing the steady march away from Flash.
     
  21. evilmike

    evilmike One Of Us

    Messages:
    3,002
    Trophy Points:
    942
    Books:
    0
    There is an option under your Halforum Preferences "Use the Flash-based uploader to upload attachments". I imagine unchecking it will resolve this problem. (I've had it unchecked for months and never saw an issue.)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  22. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    Yeah but the non-flash-based uploader suhhhhhcks >_<
     
  23. GasBandit

    GasBandit Ask me about my Reprehensible Filth Staff Member

    Messages:
    46,076
    Media:
    21
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1,844
    Location:
    Yeehawbutts, Texas
    Books:
    0
    Checking to see if updating the s9e media addon has fixed the twitch embeds -

    --- Double Post Merged, Feb 28, 2017 ---
    And the answer is no.
    --- Double Post Merged, Feb 28, 2017 ---
    Alright, trying again.

    --- Double Post Merged, Feb 28, 2017 ---
    Aaand still no.
    --- Double Post Merged, Feb 28, 2017 ---
    One more time before bed

    --- Double Post Merged, Feb 28, 2017 ---
    Alright, I give up for now, I'll try it again tomorrow.
     
    • Hugs Hugs x 1